News

Nintendo Direct Airs Today, Focuses on Upcoming Wii U Titles

| 17 May 2013 08:41
image

The "direct-to-you" Nintendo event will feature games being released over spring and summer.

Nintendo's Nintendo Direct event has proved to be a smash hit with both fans and journalists alike. Providing information on upcoming titles for all of its systems in several presentations interspersed throughout the year, direct to everyone and anyone through its official website. It's much better than having to hold out for those big E3 press releases once a year. Nintendo has just announced that the next Nintendo Direct event will happen on May 17, at 10:00 AM EST, and will feature titles being released over spring and summer, with a focus on the Wii U.

As someone who has lived in three different time zones throughout his life (and currently reports to an editor in a forth), I can appreciate the frustration our global viewers may have when only EST times are given for these kinds of events. As such, I've provided a handy little list of exactly when the event will occur in different corners of the globe:

  • Friday, May 17 at 7:00 AM PDT
  • Friday, May 17 at 10:00 AM EST
  • Friday, May 17 at 2:00 PM UTC/GMT
  • Friday, May 17 at 11:00 PM JST
  • Satrday, May 18 at 12:00 AM AEST

The last Nintendo direct in April had a focus on upcoming 3DS titles. Among the titles announced were Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D, and new titles in the Zelda and Yoshi's Island series. A western localization of EarthBound for the Wii U's virtual console was also announced, but other than that, Nintendo's home console didn't get too much love.

This time should be different, as Nintendo are expected to give information on Wii U versions of their latest titles in the Mario Kart, Zelda and Smash Bros. series. Nintendo already confirmed that these titles will be making an appearance at E3, where Nintendo will not be giving a press conference, instead opting to host several smaller "software showcases."

Source: Nintendo Direct

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on