News

"Shocking" Pokemon Announcement Coming Next Week

| 18 Aug 2014 15:15
Pikachu

Nintendo announced it has big and "shocking" Pokemon news for fans on August 26.

Nintendo and the Pokemon Company will announce a "shocking new project from Pokemon on August 26, according to a teaser page. The announcement will be made in collaboration with Famitsu magazine and streamed on NicoNico.

The stream will be live on August 26 at 10 pm JST (9 am EST/6 am PST). In attendance will be Pokemon Company president Tsunekazu Ishihara, voice actor Nobuhiko Okamoto, voice actress Aoi Yuuki (Iris from Pokemon: Black and White anime), and two unannounced special guests.

There are no hints as to what the new project could be. Siliconera points to Pokken Fighters, a possible future game teased at last year's Pokemon Game Show. We haven't heard much about it since, and Nintendo could release a Wii U Pokemon game akin to Pokemon Colosseum.

Last year the Pokemon Company also revealed a detective game starring Pikachu. If we're going by the basis of puns, the new "shocking" project will have something to do with Pikachu, and could be the detective game.

A TV feature showed off the demo last October. Pikachu will be able to mimic human facial gestures and face off against an evil Pikachu. Last year Ishihara was concerned the game could damage Pikachu's popularity as he does not expect people to like the enemy Pikachu.

Whatever the announcement reveals, we won't know until next Tuesday, August 26.

Source: Pokemon teaser, NicoNico

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on