News

Witcher 3 Digital Copies Will Unlock Early - Update

| 17 Apr 2015 15:00
the_witcher_3_wild_hunt__you_never_know_what_waits_around_the_corner

Gamers who buy The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt digitally on PS4 and Xbox One will gain access to the game a few hours earlier than everyone else.

Update: Responding to reports of potential early access for digital purchasers, CD Projekt RED has clarified that all digital copies of The Witcher 3, including the PC version, will unlock at 1AM CET on May 19th. This translates roughly into 4PM PST or 7PM PST on May 18th.

Original Story: The wait for the The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt is almost over. That's right folks, after several painful delays CD Projekt RED confirmed yesterday that the game has finally gone gold, making its release date pretty much a sure thing. That being the case, if you're a fan of the franchise and the prospect of waiting until May 19th is just too much to bear, then you might be interested in a recently revealed way to play the game a little bit earlier.

According to reports, gamers who buy digital copies of The Wild Hunt on the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One will have their copies unlocked at 4PM PDT (7PM EST) on Monday, May 18th. This, of course, will give gamers on those platforms access to the game several hours before it releases to retailers as a physical title. Making matters even better, CD Projekt RED is offering a 10 percent discount to anyone who pre-orders the game digitally. In other words, you'll get to play the game early and do it for less.

What's unclear at the moment is whether or not this early digital launch time extends to the PC game or of it's just for the PS4 and Xbox One. We've sent a query to CD Projekt RED to see if we can find out more. In the mean time, let us know how you plan to play The Witcher 3. Is the promise of extra time enticing or would you rather have a physical copy and all the goodies that come with it?

Source: GameSpot

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on