News

Shenmue 3 Breaks Another Kickstarter Record - Update

| 17 Jul 2015 19:05

With hours remaining, the campaign for Shenmue III has become the most-funded video game Kickstarter of all time.

Update: The Kickstarter campaign for Shenmue III closed at 9:51 PM EDT with a total of $6,333,295 pledged.

Original Story: On June 16 Shenmue creator Yu Suzuki launched a Kickstarter campaign in order to obtain funding for the long awaited third installment in the Shenmue franchise, making the announcement during Sony's 2015 E3 conference. The campaign broke a record on day one when it became the fastest crowdfunded game to reach $1 million, and became fully funded just hours after it went live.

Today, with mere hours left before the campaign closes, Shenmue III replaced Bloodstained, which closed on June 12 of this year, as the most funded video game Kickstarter campaign of all time. It is also the third most funded game related Kickstarter campaign of all time and, with six hours remaining, is currently the seventh most funded of all Kickstarter campaigns.

The final hours of the campaign will be counted down live via Twitch stream beginning at the times listed below:

  • Yokosuka: July 18, 8:00AM JST
  • Hong Kong: July 18, 7:00AM HKT
  • Bailu: July 18, 7:00AM CST
  • Los Angeles: July 17, 4:00PM PDT
  • New York: July 17, 7:00PM EDT
  • Berlin: July 18, 1:00AM CEST
  • Paris: July 18, 1:00AM CEST
  • Rome: July 18, 1:00AM CEST
  • London: July 18, 12:00AM BST
  • Moscow: July 18, 2:00AM MSK
  • Seoul: July 18, 8:00AM KST

You can tune in here to watch the stream when it begins.

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on