News

There Will be a Free Splatoon 2 Trial For All Switch Owners in March

| 12 Feb 2017 16:05

If you pick up a Nintendo Switch before March 24, you'll be treated to a free demo of Splatoon 2.

The Nintendo Switch will launch on March 3, 2017, and although it's launch lineup is a little bare, Nintendo have just announced a tantalizing little treat for early adopters: an exclusive first-look free trial of Splatoon 2.

The trial will take place in the form of a "global testfire", which will allow all Switch owners to play the game from March 24 to 26. The catch is that you can only play in specific, one-hour increments. Here's the schedule:

    March 24

  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET
  • March 25

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET
  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET
  • March 26

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

Nintendo said the preview will allow players to test four weapons, among them remixed versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger and the new Splat Dualies. The game launches "in summer" so this is a considerably early preview.

Furthermore, Nintendo also announced that Splatoon 2 will be compatible with Splatoon's amiibo through a forthcoming app for smart devices.

Source: Nintendo

RELATED CONTENT
Comments on