Writers Guild Announces Best Game Writing Nominations

| 14 Jan 2010 18:06

The Writers Guild of America announced its five nominations for the Videogame Writing Award of 2009.

The games nominated were Naughty Dog's Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed II, Infinity Ward's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, Bethesda's Wet and Activision's X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The winning game and writing team will be honored on February 20, 2010 during the 2010 Writers Guild Awards ceremony, which is held in Los Angeles and New York concurrently. This is the third year that a Videogame Writing Award will be given out. Last year, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed won the award and the winner in 2007 was Dead Head Fred.

In order to be eligible, the writers must be members of the WGA, the game must be released between December 1, 2008 and November 30, 2009 and it must have separate credits for writers. The award is meant to "encourage storytelling excellence in videogames, to improve the status of writers, and to encourage uniform standards within the gaming industry." The award is becoming more popular, with over double the amount of submissions from developers as the year before.

Here is the full list of nominees with individual credits:

Assassin's Creed II
Story by Corey May
Script Writers Corey May, Joshua Rubin, Jeffrey Yohalem
Published by Ubisoft Entertainment

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Written by Jesse Stern
Additional Writing by Steve Fukuda
Story by Todd Alderman, Steve Fukuda, Mackey McCandlish, Zied Rieke, Jesse Stern, Jason West
Battlechatter Dialogue by Sean Slayback
Published by Activision

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
Written by Amy Hennig
Published by Sony Computer Entertainment

Written by Duppy Demetrius
Published by Bethesda Softworks

X-Men Origins: Wolverine
Written by Marc Guggenheim
Published by Activision

Source: Writers Guild

Comments on