DURHAM, N.C. -May 5, 2009 – Leading online video gaming destination, The Escapist, was awarded its second consecutive Webby Award today. Hailed by the New York Times as the “Internet’s highest honor,” the 13th annual Webby Awards reflect the tremendous power of online properties like The Escapist, to connect to its audience in a relevant and dynamic manner.

“The Webby Awards highlight excellence, passion and celebrate the companies that experiment in the online world, while providing their communities with valuable and relevant information in a way that resonates with their audience. Today we were up against some of the biggest brands in the world making this honor, for the second year in a row, even sweeter,” said Tom Kurz, co-founder of The Escapist. “Being recognized by some of the industry’s best and brightest, out of over 10,000 entries and ranked among the most innovative and powerful brands in the world including, the New York Times, and NBC Universal, is truly a testament to how far we have come.”

The Escapist has more than doubled in size within the last year alone continually pushing the boundaries of online publishing, content and most importantly, community engagement. Founded in 2005,, has pioneered a new genre of online publication for video game enthusiasts. The Escapist was the first to offer intelligent, long form articles touching on culturally relevant topics for the diverse gaming community, through to cutting edge, award winning video shorts. At the intersection of the evolution of online publishing, unique rewards and community platforms designed for gaming enthusiasts, The Escapist boasts over 28 million page views each month.

“From Zero Punctuation, Web’s most viewed video game review series to the first-of-its-kind Internet Film Festival for Gamers and annual March Mayhem game developer competition, we are bringing our audience dynamic and engaging information and fun ways to participate in The Escapist experience.” said Alexander Macris, co-founder and publisher of The Escapist.

“The Webby Awards honors the very best of the Internet,” said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. “The Escapist’s win is a testament to the skill, ingenuity and vision of its creators.”

The 13th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 US states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA’s Chief Bob Greenberg, “Simpson’s” creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington and Harvey Weinstein.

The Escapist and all other Webby Award winners will be honored at a star-studded ceremony on June 8 in New York City hosted by Head Writer of “Saturday Night Live,” Seth Meyers. Special honorees who will be in attendance for the Webby Celebration include Jimmy Fallon, star of Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Twitter co-founder Biz Stone, “Web Therapy” star Lisa Kudrow, Family Guy creator Seth McFarlane, and many more to be announced.

About The Escapist:
Founded in 2005, The Escapist ( is a leading video gaming destination offering video game enthusiasts high-quality, innovative and exclusive content. The Escapist aims to capture and celebrate the contemporary video gaming lifestyle and the diverse video game culture by way of in-depth features and thought provoking articles authored by leading video game authorities, as well as cutting-edge video shorts, engaging forums and robust and innovative social media elements tailored to its audience. Honored with both a Webby Award and People’s Voice Award in 2008, and the Webby Award in 2009, The Escapist is part of Themis Group, Inc.’s online media arm Themis Media, and currently generates over 28 million page views each month.

About The Webby Awards:
Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards ( is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 13th Annual Webby Awards received over 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft Silverlight; The Creative Group; .ORG; Getty Images; The Barbarian Group; Digital Kitchen; Wired; IDG; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image.

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS):
The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the internet and interactive media. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 500 members consisting of leading experts in a diverse range of fields, such as musician David Bowie, Virgin Group founder Richard Branson, business guru and author Tom Peters, The Body Shop president Anita Roddick, fashion designer Max Azria, “Simpsons” creator Matt Groening and Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser. For more information, visit

The Webby Awards and The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences are registered trademarks of International Data Group.

Recommended Videos

The Escapist is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more
related content
Read Article Gaming Website Unlocks Lifestyle Achievement
Read Article Anthony Will Save the World In February
Read Article Lisa Foiles Media Kit
Related Content
Read Article Gaming Website Unlocks Lifestyle Achievement
Read Article Anthony Will Save the World In February
Read Article Lisa Foiles Media Kit