The Writer’s Guild of America (WGA) will no longer have a video games category when giving out its yearly awards.

The category has existed since 2008, with highlights like The Last of Us, God of War, and Rise of the Tomb Raider taking the cake in previous years.

The Hollywood Reporter received a statement from a WGA spokesperson:

“There won’t be a Videogame Writing Award in 2020. However, the category will be reinstated when there is a critical mass of video games covered by the WGA in order to provide a meaningful award selection process.”

Some developers have already taken to social media to sound off on the Guild’s decision.

Portal writer Chet Faliszek was particularly critical of the decision on Twitter, saying that he will “never” join the WGA.

God of War creative director Cory Barlog also gave his thoughts on the matter. Many others on social media echoed his sentiments that the decision is a huge step backward for acceptance of gaming in the mainstream.

The Last of Us and Uncharted 4 creative director Neil Druckmann also jumped into the discussion, calling the move “misguided” and “a slap in the face.”

The WGA has yet to respond with any further clarification.

Michael Cripe
Michael was lucky enough to join Escapist mid-July of 2019. Though he thinks there's nothing better than a good Nintendo Direct, you'll always be able to catch him talking about all things video games. If you like what you've read here, go check out his work at OnlySP.

    DC Universe’s Harley Quinn Cartoon Gets a November Release Date

    Previous article

    World War II FPS, Hell Let Loose, is Getting A New Game Mode With its Next Update

    Next article

    You may also like