Guitar Hero: Greatest Hits Confirmed with Details, Tracks


Activision has started discussing the details for its second Guitar Hero band game, this time recycling songs from older titles with new instruments added.

With a backlog of online songs and no direct sequel to Guitar Hero: World Tour announced, Activision has announced Guitar Hero: Greatest Hits, a full-band rendition of 48 songs from past Guitar Hero games.

The songs are being updated with new note tracks to support master tracks of previously recorded songs and to allow play for the drums and bass. For additional self-inflicted pain, drummers will be exposed to the brutal “Expert+” difficulty, a mode so hard one game producer recommends the purchase of “some spare arms and legs,” for those skilled enough to survive.

Eight of the final 48 songs are:

  • “Them Bones” by Alice in Chains
  • “Killer Queen” by Queen
  • “Nothin’ But A Good Time” by Poison
  • “Killing in the Name” by Rage Against The Machine
  • “I Wanna Rock” by Twisted Sister
  • “I Love Rock N Roll” by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts
  • “Barracuda” by Heart
  • “Through the Fire and Flames” by Dragonforce

“We wanted to come up with an ideal setlist that would appeal to long term players and newcomers. Put simply, we chose the songs that we felt were the most fun based on the music experience and the gameplay experience – both solo and full band,” Paul Gadbois, producer at developer Beenox who is working with Activision on the title. “We ended up with a one of a kind setlist that we feel represents the best, most entertaining music from the Guitar Hero franchise.”

This new rendition of Guitar Hero, including only the software, will be coming in June for $59.99 on the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3, while Wii and PS2 will be $49.99 and $39.99 respectively.

Source: IGN

About the author