Tony Hawk HD Does Not Feature Guerrilla Radio


The Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater HD soundtrack list is here to break your heart.

As a journalist, I’m required to at least pretend to be nonpartisan. It’s my job to tell you the news, not what you should think about it. But occasionally there comes a time when a man must take a stand, no matter what the consequences. A time when a man must stand firm and speak out against tyranny. A time when he must say “this far, and no further.” This is such a time. “Guerrilla Radio” by Rage Against the Machine will not be one of the sixteen tracks on the Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater HD soundtrack. This is not right. It is not just.

“[Picking the final 16 songs] was a little difficult,” said producer, project manager and servant of the system, Ken Overbey. “We definitely wanted to bring back some of the songs from the original soundtrack, but wanted new songs as well. The most difficulty we had was our budget, which was very small, and the scope and time frame; it was a lot of work to get it all lined up and get the songs in. You have to put out a risk analysis report and you have to point out to the publisher what the biggest risks are in the development. Soundtrack, Patrick and I both agreed, was the number one. Anyone who knows the game knows the music is just as important as the gameplay.”

The known track list:

  • “Bring the Noise” –  Anthrax featuring Chuck D
  • “Superman” – Goldfinger
  • “When Worlds Collide” – Powerman 5000
  • “Heavy Metal Winner” – Consumed
  • “May 16″ – Lagwagon
  • “No Cigar” – Millencolin
  • “You” – Bad Religion
  • “The Bomb” – Pigeon John
  • “We the People” – Lateef the Truthspeaker
  • “Marathon Mansion!” – Pegasuses-XL
  • “Teenage Blood” – Apex Manor
  • “Please Ask for Help” – Telekinesis
  • “Flyentology (Cassettes Won’t Listen Remix)” – El-P featuring Trent Reznor
  • “USA” – Middle Class Rut

The final tracks are culled from from the first two Tony Hawk games, with a few new ones thrown in for good measure. Notable absentees include; “Evil Eye” by stoner rock outfit, Fu Manchu; “Blood Brothers” by Papa Roach and  “Cyco Vision” by Suicidal Tendencies. At least they managed to secure Millencolin’s catchy “No Cigar.”

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater HD is set for release on PSN and XBLA next month, though obviously we will all be too busy engaging in bloody revolution to buy it. I know that idea may frighten some of you, but It has to start somewhere. It has to start sometime. What better place than here? What better time than now?

Source: Soundandvision

About the author