Xbox One Will Launch In Just 13 Countries

Xbox One

Microsoft has reduced the number of Xbox One launch markets from 21 countries to just 13.

When Microsoft said that the Xbox One would be available in just 21 countries at launch, it seemed like an awful lot of the planet was being left out of the loop. Today, however, Microsoft announced that number will be even smaller.

“Our priority is ensuring our customers get the best Xbox One experience the first day it is available,” the “Xbox Leadership Team” revealed today. “To do that, and in order to meet demand, we have adjusted the number of markets that will receive Xbox One in November to 13 markets, including Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and New Zealand.”

“We remain committed to launching Xbox One in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, as soon as possible in 2014,” it added.

The original reason for the limited launch coverage was the system’s reliance on game activation and a daily check-in with Xbox Live, which could lead one to wonder why, with most of that always-on DRM stripped out, the number of release-day markets is being shrunk, not expanded.

“While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches. This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country,” the team explained. “We understand this will be disappointing news for our fans in the impacted countries, and we are doing everything we can to bring Xbox One to you as soon as possible next year.”

This show just does not end.

Source: Xbox Wire

About the author