Guitar Hero Goes Continental


Activision gives gamers the chance to download songs from bands they’ve probably never heard of.

Who needs No Doubt and the Foo Fighters when you’ve got Sportfreunde Stiller and BB Brunes? Never heard of them? Neither have I, but apparently Activision has and is set to introduce them to Guitar Hero: World Tour fans with the release of two new downloadable song packs.

The packs, imaginatively titled the “European Track Packs,” are available on Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Wii and feature artists from Germany, France, Italy, Sweden, Spain and the Netherlands playing hits from their native countries, largely in their native languages.

The tracks listings for the packs are:

European Track Pack 1

1. Sportfreunde Stiller – “’54, ’74, ’90, 2010” (Germany)
2. Negrita – “Mama Mae” (Italy)
3. BB Brunes – Dis Moi (France)

European Track Pack 2

1. Backyard Babies – “Degenerated” (Sweden)
2. Fito Y Fitipaldis – “Por La Boca Vive El Pez” (Spain)
3. Di-Rect – “Johnny” (The Netherlands)

The Guitar Hero franchise is no stranger to European music of course, with bands such as Lacuna Coil, Hellacopters and the Scorpions all making appearances in the past, although, crucially, all of those bands have enjoyed some degree of international success.

I suppose the real question is, do you trust Activision’s taste in music or do you need more than a thumbs-up from a megacorp? Either way, Pack 1 is available for download now and Pack 2 will be released later this month.

Source: GameDaily

Recommended Videos

The Escapist is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy